I’m back. Unfortunately, I’m not better than ever.

So this blog kind of bit the dust for a while. A long while.

First, there was the domain name expiring issue. Oops. Then, there was my brilliant idea to switch to a new blogging platform (WordPress) with the new domain. Getting everything into WordPress wasn’t an issue. Trying to get everything to look the way I wanted without having to pay money for every little thing was and still is a huge issue. Argh. So, I still hate the way the site looks, but I’m not exactly sure how to fix it. I guess I need to become friends with a designer.

But, despite the crappy look, I decided I could still write (even though it irritates me every time I look at it). It’s still a terrible work in process and will hopefully look better … eventually.

So, what’s been happening the last … oh, three-plus months that I disappeared from the blogging world?

Well, I’m still running, and I’m still slow. In fact, I’m slower than ever before. And, running hasn’t been that fun lately. It’s been pretty darn miserable. I’m hoping to turn it around, but I’ve been hoping that for the last three months. I’ve run my personal worsts in the half marathon and 5K. If I’d run a 10K, I’m sure it would have been my worst, too.

turtle sign

I’m running even closer to turtle speed now.

Super-easy Halloween running costume for a not-easy-at-all half marathon

Super-easy Halloween running costume for a not-easy-at-all half marathon

Running friends make personal crappy running better

Running friends make personal crappy running better

The race where I said I was giving up on running, but thanks to these friends, I didn't

The race where I said I was giving up on running, but thanks to these friends, I didn’t

Aside from crappy running, I’ve done some traveling (to Kansas for Kansas State football games and rousing games of slap cup) and to fabulous Las Vegas, and my dad came to visit over Christmas.

A glorious BBQ sundae

A glorious BBQ sundae

Happy after some Kansas City BBQ

Happy after some Kansas City BBQ

Part of our tailgating crew

Part of our tailgating crew

One of my favorite places

One of my favorite places

With my dad in enemy territory

With my dad in enemy territory

Slap cup

Slap cup

The main reason for the trip to Las Vegas (besides it being a super-awesome city)? BRUNO MARS. Yes, you can be thankful the blog was quiet for the months leading up to that because it would have been obnoxious, I’m sure.

Yes, I saw him in Tampa this summer, but the combination of two of my loves (Las Vegas and Bruno) was too much for me to resist. Plus, it was a small venue (3,000 seats) and, well … it’s BRUNO MARS. Yes, I admit to being slightly obsessed.

The concert was amazing (duh), and he did such a wide range (Michael Jackson, Janet Jackson, Nirvana, Led Zeppelin, TLC, Color Me Bad, R Kelly, Ginuwine) of covers, which I loved. Even my boyfriend, the former Bruno Mars-hating guy, liked the concert and now semi-likes him (as long as he doesn’t sing “Grenade”).

Bellagio fountains

Bellagio fountains

Bellagio Gargen

Bellagio garden

Vegas at night

I love Vegas at night.

Venetian tree

Venetian tree

This is probably true-to-life size

This is probably true-to-life size

He's amazing (just the way he is).

He’s amazing (just the way he is).

Bruno 2

I love this little guy.

Have I mentioned he's amazing?

Have I mentioned he’s amazing?

Confetti explosion at the end of the concert. Fun, but sadness ensued since it was over.

Confetti explosion at the end of the concert. Fun, but sadness ensued since it was over.

I will try to remain calm until the Super Bowl when he performs. Just be prepared, peeps. He’s going to be incredible.

I will also try to remain calm about my crappy running and not freak out or become a negative Nelly.

I said “I’ll try.” I can’t promise on either.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “I’m back. Unfortunately, I’m not better than ever.

  1. You and me are in the same running boat. My times over the past 6 months have gotten slower, but I’m trying to look at the positive side and say they can only get faster from here. 🙂 You can do it!!!

    Vegas…love Vegas… Sounds like the last few months have been fun at least! That’s something. I’m glad you decided not to give up running. As they say, no matter how slow, you’re still lapping everybody on the sofa!

  2. I went to Vegas for the first time on my birthday LAST year, and I sooo want to go back! I want to switch from Blogger to WP.org, but am terrified! How did you transfer everything?

    • I’m ready to go back to Vegas already! I love it there. I’m not even sure what I did to transfer (I think I just did a transfer through WP — you could choose to transfer everything from Blogger, and it worked really well. Some formatting was off on some things, but it moved everything over. All the technical stuff is definitely not my strong suit.)

Leave a comment